National Service Scheme (NSS) was introduced in 1969 with the primary objective of developing the personality and character of the student youth through voluntary community service. ‘Education through Service’ is the purpose of the NSS. The ideological orientation of the NSS is inspired by the ideals of Mahatma Gandhi. The scheme was launched in Gandhiji's Centenary year, 1969 Very appropriately, the motto of NSS is “NOT ME, BUT YOU”.  NSS volunteer places the ‘community’ before ‘self’.  NSS is a voluntary association of young people in Colleges.

Objectives of NSS:

NSS aims at developing the following qualities/ competencies among the volunteers:

a) To understand the community in which the NSS volunteers work and to understand themselves in relation to their community;

 b) To identify the needs, problems of the community and involve themselves in problem-solving exercise;

c)  To develop among themselves a sense of social and civic responsibility;

d)  To utilize their knowledge in finding practical solutions to individual and community problems;

e)   To gain skills in mobilizing community participation;

f)   To acquire leadership qualities and democratic values;

g)   To develop capacity to meet emergencies and natural disasters;

h)   To practice national integration and social harmony.

       NSS attempts to establish meaningful linkages between ‘Campus and Community’, ‘College and Village’ and ‘Knowledge and Action’.

        The Institute has a NSS unit since its inception . One NSS Unit has been awarded with “ Best NSS Unit in the year 2015-16. Similarly, Dr. V.N. Ghode programme was awarded with Best NSS programme officer in the same year.

NSS Advisory Committee at the Institute level for the Year 2017-18

1.    Dr. L.S. Tulankar        Principal & Chairman

2.    Dr. V.N. Ghode           Programme Officer & Secretary

3.    Dr A.S. Barde              Member

4.    DR. N.B. Pangul         Member

5.    Mr. S. Somkuwar        Students Representative

6.    Mr. N.Dhadase           Students Representative

7.    Ku. K. Sargar              Students Representative

NSS Advisory Committee at the Institute level for the Year 2018-19

1.    Dr. V.N. Ghode                     Chairperson           

2.    Dr. A.S. Barde                      Member

3.    Prof. S. V. Kodape                Member

4.   Dr. N.B. Pangul                      Member

5.   Ms. Rakhi Jamkar                  Member

6. Ms. Laxmi Dakhole                  Member


NSS REPORT 2013-2014

NSS REPORT 2014-2015

NSS REPORT 2015-2016

NSS REPORT 2016-2017

NSS REPORT 2017-2018